Cloud Licensing Models

Jinesh Varia writing on the Amazon AWS blog does a good job of summarising the three main types of Cloud licences that are prevalent for applications and services:

  1. Bring Your Own License (BYOL) Model
  2. Utility Pricing Model with a Support Package
  3. ISV SaaS-based Cloud Service

Also included is some advice for incrementally migrating to Cloud based services:

If your enterprise applications are tightly coupled with complex third-party enterprise software systems that have not yet been migrated to the AWS cloud or if you have already invested in multi-year on-premise licensing contracts with the vendor, you should consider refactoring your enterprise applications into functional building blocks. Run what you can in the cloud and connect to the licensed software systems that still run on-premise.” [Read More]

Share this Article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *